Being A Girl In This World

My mama always told me to dress in long pants or jeans and a t-shirt when I’m outside alone. When it comes to my brother, she doesn’t say much, except the time when he was nine and he was going out with his friends. Kidnappers are bound to be out there, somewhere.

She’ll then give me more advice.

  • Watch your back to make sure no one is following you.
  • Stay in areas that have crowds.

And then, she’ll grill me over everything.

“Do you remember what you should do if you feel as if someone is following you?”

That’s part of being a girl. No matter how old you are, you’ll always be asked to be careful and cautious of your surroundings. Even when I’m at college at another state, my mama would call me and tell me not to go out on a specific day just because there were political rallies going on. I get it, you want me to be safe. But why aren’t males treated the way females are?

Where is  the gender equality? The equal rights? The freedom?

“We’ve begun to raise daughters more like sons… but few have the courage to raise our sons more like our daughters” – Gloria Steinem

One thing every girl fear is rape.

There are people who blame girls for attracting unwanted attraction by purposely wearing revealing clothes. This is just a one sided judgement. We girls can wear what we want to. We do it for us, not for anyone else. In fact, I wear makeup because I like it, because I find it fun to play with. And if toddlers getting raped is their fault, where is the logic in that?

And yet, people still find it legit to blame girls.

Victims of rape should be able to talk about it without fear. It never was their fault. So why let them live in fear? Rapists are the ones who are at fault. They should receive more jail time than other crimes.

And if we could ever change men’s thinking, maybe then rape wouldn’t occur. But it’ll take ages to change every mind and it require everyone to work together. From the government to school parents and society.

“Rape is one of the most terrible crimes on earth and it happens every few minutes. The problem with groups who deal with rape is that they try to educate women about how to defend themselves. What really needs to be done is teaching men not to rape. Go to the source and start there.” “Rape is one of the most terrible crimes on earth and it happens every few minutes. The problem with groups who deal with rape is that they try to educate women about how to defend themselves. What really needs to be done is teaching men not to rape. Go to the source and start there.” – Kurt Cobain

One thing lacking is that whenever my mama talks about rape, and I give my opinion about how men should learn not to rape, she gets all fired out and say that I’m wrong. If this is how every mothers think, we’ll never get anywhere. We’ll never improve society and wipe out the existence of rape and the fear of going out alone.

Furthermore, this quote “You are a girl. That’s why.” is an overused, pathetic reason.

Travelling alone? No. You’re a girl. That’s why.

Going out alone? No. You’re a girl. That’s why.

Get tanned and muscly? No. You’re a girl. That’s why.

Getting a tattoo? No. You’re a girl. That’s why.

Getting a buzz cut? No.  You’re a girl. That’s why.

Smoke a cigarette? No. You’re a girl. That’s why.

I am so sick and tired of hearing this. Must I be all poised and pretty, staying at home all day instead of feeding my curious wild heart that wants a little bit of trouble and conflict? Why do the guys get the adventure of their life, the freedom that I want? Why is it so unfair to let me taste the different wind in the air and yet, you say that I’m not daring or brave enough when you don’t let me be.

Enough said. We girls should have each other’s backs till the very end.

Stay fighting for women’s rights and gender equality. xx

 

Leave a Reply

