The Friend Links

Staying back in my hometown for so long is nice but risky. Risky in the sense that I fear coincidentally meeting people who are linked to other people who are also linked to so many other people that I used to know.

It isn’t bad to catch up but sometimes catching up leads to getting updates you don’t want to know. You can’t exactly say straight up to them that you don’t want to hear about anyone else. You end up just smiling about whatever they said. It’s called being polite. And plus, friend links naturally make everyone else that you never catch with know where you are and what you’re up to lately.

So where did this topic came up on my mind?

Well I met three friends at the bowling alley. Let’s call them A, B and C. I don’t mind catching up with A. He doesn’t have any links to anyone I don’t really want to keep up on. B and C on the other hand have links to people I don’t really want to get updates of.

I guess after you have been hurt emotionally, you don’t want any more of that. You rather start a new life without any of the reminders. After all, forgiving is easy. Forgetting is the hard part.

Anyways, B had asked some very interesting questions, such as, ” Why haven’t I catch up with anyone else here?”.

It took me a while to think of an answer but I had a really good one which was true. I said, “I’m so free and everyone’s off to college. Everyone’s busy. I don’t want to disturb them.” But on the inside, I knew there was also another reason to why I didn’t catch up with everyone. It’s the friend link that terrifies me.

But at the end of the day, it was nice catching up. They are nice and cool people but it would be even better if there wasn’t any links.

Signing off.

cloe_shadowscar xx

 

Leave a Reply

