To Clear Or Not To Clear?

I hesitate whenever I have to eat out with a specific someone. I tend to find a way to not go out and have meals with her. Let’s call her Ally.

The thing is that she hates it when waiters or waitresses come by and ask for permission to take away empty plates. She thinks it is rude to clear empty plates away when people are still there. She thinks that clearing plates after the customers leave the place is the right way to go.

To be honest, I don’t really agree. I get that she wants a disturbance free meal or maybe she feels as if having an empty plate or plates taken away cause(s) awkward moments between the diners but it gets even more awkward for me when she scold them, saying something like, “Do you know that it’s rude to clear empty plates now?”. I swear I always find myself looking downwards, feeling the embarrassment burn in my cheeks, hoping that they will not remember or hate me because I have nothing to do with her opinions. To me, I don’t mind when they want to clear empty plates. It makes eating much more comfortable and plus, they are doing what they have been taught to do. It may be wrong to some but I have only met one person who finds it wrong. The rest of my friends don’t mind at all…

What about you?

Signing off,

cloe_shadowscar xx

Leave a Reply

