Ally Strikes Again!

I wrote about Ally in my previous post “To Clear Or Not To Clear?”. If you need a bit of introduction to what kind of person she is, read that post first.

Anyways, I was sharing a car with her. I had no choice but that is another story. Halfway through the car ride, she said that I don’t have emotional intelligence. Honestly, I believe I have an average emotional intelligence because I control my emotions well, I’m aware of my feelings, I can maintain friendships, I can sense other people’s emotions, and I get moved by emotional scenes in movies.

“You should search it up if you don’t know what it means,” she said. 

I knew what emotional intelligence means and that got me mad as well, apart from the fact that she thinks I’m  but I managed to stay calm, instead of doing something I’ll regret like pointing a middle finger.

Emotional Intelligence : 

The capacity to be aware of, control, and express one’s emotions, and to handle interpersonal relationships judiciously and empathetically. (Taken from Google)

or

In practical terms, this means being aware that emotions can drive our behavior and impact people (positively and negatively), and learning how to manage those emotions – both our own and others – especially when we are under pressure. (Taken from the Institute for Health and Human Potential)

She doesn’t know that I am capable of managing my emotions very well like how I don’t lash out or let the beast out every time she does something embarrassing or say something stupid.

I know that approximately 93% of the people who knows her (I know those people too) dislike her. I could easily be mean (because I have been tolerating her all my life) and say, “Accusing someone of not having emotional intelligence shows that you lack emotional intelligence too.”

I’m starting to wonder if she really knows the meaning of emotional intelligence because it seems as if she cannot feel what others feel or even guess their emotions. I’m aware that the people who dislike her have gotten into heated arguments with her which proves that she brings negative energy wherever she goes because of the mindless things she says. I wish she could meet herself in real life to know how others feel.

Sometimes, I want to tell her that she should think before she speaks, and consider other people’s feelings instead of just shooting arrows at people.

Met anyone like this? Comment below!

Don’t let them get to you.

Stay chill xx

 

Leave a Reply

