Review: Highlight & Contour Pro Palette by Nyx

Product : Highlight & Contour Pro Palette by Nyx 

Ratings : 4/5 Beauty Stars

 2284091.jpg

My first thought when I bought this was that it looked really neat and convenient to use. I happily bought this at Sephora last month and I hadn’t really tried to out until recently.

Let us talk about all the highlight and contour shades that is in this palette and how I use them.

IMG_3536.JPG

IMG_3528.JPG

From left to right (on the arm) : 

Ice Queen, Soft Light, Cream, Nectar, Tan, Toffee, Sculpt, Hollow

As you can see, Ice Queen is a shimmery highlighter. I always use it on the highest point of my cheekbones to accentuate them. Soft Light on the other hand is used to highlight my nose. I’m pretty sure you can use it to highlight the center area of your forehead and chin too but I use Nectar for that. I find Cream quite yellowish (like banana) so I use them for my under eye area to cover up under eye circles. Cream can also be used to cover up redness and pink undertones.

As I’m not a very bold person, I use either Tan or Toffee to contour the sides of my face. I have to say that I prefer Toffee than Tan because Toffee look better on my skin tone so you will have to figure out that. I also use Sculpt to contour my temple, using a brush to blend it into the hairline as well as for contouring my nose . I have not use Hollow because the shade is too dark for me but maybe I will try using it (if I am bold enough).

In my opinion, I find the colors pigmented, lightweight and easy to blend in the wide areas. When it comes to narrow area like the nose, I find it a little difficult to blend with a small brush so I end up using my pinky finger to blend.

Ingredients in this product: Talc, Polymethyl Methacrylate, Boron Nitride, Aluminum Starch Octenylsuccinate, Lauroyl Lysine, Trimethylsiloxyphenyl Dimethicone, Dimethicone, Octyldodecyl Stearoyl Stearate, Zinc Stearate, Phenoxyethanol, Caprylyl Glycol, Tocopheryl Acetate. MAY CONTAIN / PEUT CONTENIR (+/-): Mica, Titanium Dioxide (CI 77891), Iron Oxides (CI 77491, CI 77492, CI 77499), Red 6 (CI 15850).

I would like to point out that ingredients like talc, dimethicone and red 6 may cause more acne breakout. If you are acne prone or have oily skin, it is probably best to avoid products with these ingredients. But overall, it has a low hazard rating so there is not much worry about.

Furthermore, the good thing about this palette is that it is refillable. You can take out each singles when you finish them and just buy new singles instead of buying a whole new highlight and contour palette.

IMG_3560.JPG

I definitely suggest getting colors you would always use. I would still get all four different highlighters and maybe two singles of Toffee , one Sculpt and one Hollow.

And plus, the price for this palette is quite reasonable.

Leave a Reply

