Put It Away

The phone epidemic is real.

We start the day off with the phone and end the day off with the phone. It is crazy and quite honestly, I hate it. As much as there are so many things you can do on a phone now, I believe it’s definitely time to put it away at some point and not be hooked on it 24/7.

To be honest, I have tried my very best to put the phone away most of the time, especially in the company of others but when others don’t do the same, I end up doing the same. I get annoyed because if you are meant to spend some quality time with a person, don’t be on the phone. Put it aside. Check for texts or missed calls – yes; just don’t keep getting hooked onto your social medias because that makes you completely drying up the friendship or relationship you have going. Meet ups or dates will seem like a routine instead of something that will bring people closer.

I get that when it’s just 2 people, you may run out of things to say but that’s the beauty of it. That’s the part when you put in effort to talk about something which proves how much you actually want to keep the conversation going because friendships and relationships aren’t just about meetups, it’s about the effort.

And frankly, if you want to be on your phone the entire hang out, I rather be alone than hang out. I rather have my own time instead of waiting forever for you to put the damn phone away because if I am sacrificing my time and effort to be with you, hell – I expect you to reciprocate. But when you don’t even put in effort – hell I can reciprocate the same damn effort you put in. Or even better, why do I even waste my time thinking that some people can change? Like I said, there are so many things I can go do by myself. We don’t even need to meet up or hang out if it goes on like that.

*Sigh*

People can be so disappointing at times.


So yes, please put down the phone and focus on people that mean the world to you before you lose them. Everyone’s replaceable. It’s just the matter of time. After all, the mind decides for us as we lose inch and inch of hope until we completely give up and at the last resort, the only thing the mind can do for us is to bring the entire body away.

Signing off,

cloe_shadowscar xx

Leave a Reply

